Some think that practical subjects are more important than theoretical subjects in university, and the latter will be replaced by the former in the future. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this idea?

University is a place to allow people to learn high-level knowledge. Some people think that practical subjects are more important than theoretical subjects. In my opinion, I fail to agree with this in the sense that pure study brings about rational thought and a deep understanding of the why behind every situation. On the one hand, theory is necessary in practice, most times philosophy helps to build up logical thinking which is very necessary and is used to solve problems, thus when learnt they get the benefits from this training.,, Moreover these courses have connections, for instance when scientists think that H5N1 comes from chickens then they use various experiments to find out how to save others from chickens. When students only focus on the practicable text, there are a lot of theories that cannot build up. On the other hand, learning the theory can allow students to know how the practice comes about then, they can understand quickly and easily. For example, when the maths formula is known, other exercises on that topic can be solved. So we can see their connection and usefulness, and also a theoretical aspect of study makes way for a better explanation of the reasons for certain behaviour. For example the famous Pavlov study on how a dog learnt how to salivate when he heard a bell ringing, because the dog associated the bell with food. This is one of many theoretical frameworks used to explain why techniques are successful and why others fail. In conclusion, despite a few individuals feeling applied studies are better than abstract text, I think university not only allows scholars to study pragmatic context but also the conceptual aspects, and should be continued in the curriculum.