Topic 14: (25/06/2016) Some people think it is more important for government to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, how to allocate the government's expenditure has undergone a discussion between the two opposite extremes, the allocation for promoting healthy lifestyle programs or the treatment of patients. While having extremely reasonable reasons to support their standpoints. In my humble opinion, I do agree that finding spending on a healthy promotion strategy exhibits more vital rather than treatment because it benefits disease prevention.   One of the compelling merits of disease prevention is prolonging citizens' average expectancy, because some types of chronic diseases, like high blood pressure. Although patients can use some unique medicines to control the development of it, irretrievable harm to patients ' expectancy; hence extending the average expectancy, rendering it one of the paramount beneficiaries within the government's financial allocation. Except for the demonstrated advantage, the allocation for promoting a positive lifestyle definitely saves more on the government's fiscal outlays, since expenditure spending on medical treatment is always significantly higher compared to that promoting program, especially for some serious diseases like cancer. While this extra funding can be allocated to other items, such as basic infrastructure construction. All in all, a large amount of money allocated to the promotion of healthy programs is a wise decision for local authorities. In stark contrast, some individuals are proposing that it is not reasonable for local hospitals to be given the most parsimonious portion of the overall spending. This is because the hospital usually needs to take major responsibility to treat patients, including someone who cannot afford the treatment fee. In short, increased spending on medical institutions is vital equally. In summation, the allocation for healthy promotion shows two undeniable advantages, extending local people's expectancy and budget saving. While funding spending on treatment also has its necessity. However, health insurance may become a useful solution to address the problem of the lack ability of to pay medical fees, so allocation for healthy promotion shows more significance.