Nowadays the wave many people interact with each other has changed because of technology in what ways technology has affected the types of relations people make has this become a positive or negative development

It is an irrefutable fact that technology has modified the means by which humans communicate. There are both merits and demerits of it which are explained in detail along with relevant examples henceforth. Beyond doubt, technology has brought the world closer. Even if two people are miles apart, they can still stay in touch by using a variety of applications such as Whatsapp and Facebook. This is especially important for students who leave their homes and settle abroad for higher education. Moreover, the time duration for sending urgent messages is drastically reduced as with the help of technology texts can be sent and received instantly. However, earlier it took days to send a message. Further, video calling facility not only helps people to see their loved ones but also helps them attend meetings as well as seminars which are being conducted by various institutions at distant places. For example, Skype and Zoom-call are frequently used for carrying out business proceedings. Thus, technology has revolutionised our way of connecting to the world while providing more comfort. However, excessive use of technology and social media causes social anxiety in both adults and children while going and meeting people in person. This is because talking to people from behind the screen gives an extra boost to confidence as the face is not seen by the other person. Apart from this, the chances of misunderstanding the text are relatively high with this newer technology as one's feelings and tone can not be judged online. For example, most youngsters are found quarrelling on the net because they fail to understand the context and emotion of a certain text. Hence, online friendship is often superficial and does not last long. Hence to conclude, we can say that although online friendship tends to be superficial where people frequently miss out on others' points of view, the fact that it helps students as well as those living far away to stay connected to their family and friends far outweighs. Therefore, it is an overall positive development.