Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree?

Many countries of this world are indeed facing the issue of a tremendous increase in crime rate in this era. Because of this, people believe that there should be more military officers patrolling the streets. I partly agree with this point of view. There are several reasons why it is helpful to mitigate crimes when there are more policemen on the streets. Firstly, patrolling can prevent illegal activities as this might help create a sense of fear in the minds of criminals. If police officers are out on the streets of violent areas, then there will be fewer illegal activities because they can get caught. Otherwise, the lack of surveillance potentially leads to more unlawful activities. Secondly, it gives citizens a sense of protectiveness. For example, if there is a lawbreaker makes a crime, it is easier for people to report it to policemen and they can arrive at the crime scene faster, ultimately resulting in saving the victim from the adversaries. On the other hand, I do believe that there are other ways to minimize disobeying law instructions. The first solution is that cameras can be installed on the streets and shopping areas for surveillance purposes. This allows the police department can possibly keep the order of the streets remotely and may take action in time with any lawbreaker’s actions. In addition, the mentality of the people and the law system needs to be changed. For instance, many officials of law are get corrupted and have joined hands with the bad guys to earn some extra money. The administration needs to make sure that such officers get severe punishments for their betrayal of the community, eventually ensuring that law enforcement officers get implemented at the ground level and finally all criminals may get strict punishment. To conclude, I do agree that installing more police officers on the ground can help prevent lawlessness, but this is not an effective way. To effectively reduce crime, the government needs to work on changing the mentality of people, and make stricter laws, so that no offender gets out without any sentence.