Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A part of people is heating up the idea that the disappearance of some types of plants and animals is the most serious problem in our age. However, others advocate the notion that other problems should be paid attention to. While I believe that there are many issues related to the environment, I would argue that the former is the main one. On the one hand, the actions of people have led to many difficulties in the world. Increasing in the worldwide population which means many activities such as producing, manufacturing or transporting are witnessing an ascending trend. This phenomenon raises a detrimental effect on the surroundings. Global warming or the greenhouse effect have caused many severe weather conditions, for example, storms, flood, and tornados. Governments have to set aside a significant part of the country’s budget to recover the consequences and help those suffering from these. On the other hand, more serious results may turn up when some kinds of plants and animals gradually disappear. Initially, the world will be in a mess. Not only do those come from nature, but our human beings are also a part of the food chain. We take food sources from these species and they act the same as us, finding their food in the environment they live. Because of this fact, when a group of nature inhabitants is in trouble, there will be a lack of foodstuff and the balance between these symbiotic relationships may be lost. Furthermore, the later generation cannot stare at the beauty of these types. For vanished species, it will be nearly impossible for scientists to recreate the equivalence as it is difficult and cost a huge amount of money to investigate. Plus, for some kinds of plants which have the advantage of curing diseases, it will be a great loss when these plants no longer exist. For instance, peppermint leaves are effective in healing the symptoms of sore throat or headache but if we cannot get access to this source, we may have to rely on drugs. In conclusion, although harsh weather conditions may happen more intensely when global warming occurs, I agree that the loss of natural creatures is the major theme as it can erase the balance in the world and at the same time, deletes the source for deepening knowledge and curing disease.