Many countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rual areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend? and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

Many countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rual areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend? and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers? Nowadays urbanisation, which can refer to either the process by which rural communities grow into cities or the migration of people from rural to urban areas this phenomenon is usually associated more with modern times. This essay will discuss several reasons for this change, which has resulted in some negative consequences. It is true that the high level of migration from the countryside to the city for various reasons, and they are several reasons for this. The first reasons are the lack of resources in rural areas to meet the growing global population, we need more workforce to meet the demand, leading to more work positions. If people in rural areas are restricted from agricultural work, they will experience a variety of jobs. The second is the lure of employment opportunities that people associate with cities, the living standard of the city is usually better than in the countryside, which can be clearly observed by the city’s high quality and quantity of public infrastructure such as hospitals and schools. The third is the desire for higher quality health care and education than what most rural communities are able to provide because In many cases, patients must be transported to larger hospitals in the city due to a lack of necessary equipment. However, it is important to keep in mind that while this shift in demographics promises many opportunities it is not without its challenges. Often, the job market cannot keep up with the pace of urban growth. This means that many of the poor who migrate to cities will find themselves relocated without improving economic situations. The current infrastructure could not meet the demand of such a rapid increase in the city’s population. Thus, the trend might lead to overpopulation in big cities and a lack of labour in rural areas. To sum up, the cause of this trend is mainly due to job search problems and the overcrowding that led to many of its effects. So the government and the people should plan and implement to mitigate this trend.