Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is frequently argued that budgets should be allocated to railways rather than conventional highways. Despite the fact that roads are also beneficial in urban areas, I entirely agree with this position. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my position regarding this viewpoint. First, the majority of scholars assert that railway conveyance is faster than automobiles and road vehicles. In other words, trains and underground systems can move significantly quicker than cars on the road and can transport a large number of passengers. As a result, there is less rail traffic, making railway systems more manageable. For instance, as a result of the construction of a subway system in Tehran, which was able to transport a large number of people each day, traffic decreased significantly, whereas some urban planners believed that developing and enhancing Tehran's roads in order to solve the traffic problem would be extremely costly and time-consuming. In addition to being faster than automobiles, constructing a railway system in large cities is less expensive and simpler. It appears that building railways will be less expensive and take less time than constructing new roads in cities. Secondly, the railway system is more environmentally favourable, emitting fewer air pollutants because the majority of trains are powered by electricity. In other words, because cars burn fossil fuels, they produce a lot of harmful gases, such as Carbon dioxide, that pollute the air and, due to the Greenhouse effect, raise the temperature of the planet, whereas trains and underground systems today rely primarily on electricity, which is emission-free and completely clear. Recent surveys and research have shown, for instance, that the development of railway systems in certain cities has substantially reduced air pollution in those cities, as fewer people use private automobiles and, consequently, the amount of pollutants decreases. In conclusion, regardless of the merits of roads, I believe that governments should focus on developing railways rather than constructing new roads because railways are faster, cheaper, and more environmentally favourable than road systems. Additionally, it has positive effects on traffic control and the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions.