social media helps people to keep in touch with friends and and stay on top of news and events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, social media has taken over the world by its power of connecting people and sharing life updates. It has become the main hub of information and communication, which are advantageous. However, I do think that its cons have become more dangerous, it has brought a sense of distress among teenagers and has proved itself as a platform for inaccurate news. On the one hand, the benefits of the internet and social media are tremendously huge. It has become a moving library for everyone, from finding worldly news to personal pictures, from books to live sessions, it's all just a click away. Bringing people closer, and connecting to the whole world in just mere seconds, are a few major edges of its pros. For instance, today families living far apart, feel connected and together through video callings without any restrictions or time constraints. In contrast, there have been debates on the Government level that these social sites have caused more harm than the opposite. It has caused young people to fall prey to the idea of a perfect lifestyle, which creates a sense of competition and discomfort. Not only the mental health gets affected but also physical health worsens. Especially, when information which is incorrect and misleading start getting viral on social platforms, they cause a lot of trouble on a personal level and sometimes on a national or international level. As an example, in the past few months, a rumour about the COVID-19 relapse spread widely around the globe, making Korea its relapse centre. This turned so bad that every country banned travel to and from that country. In conclusion, the masses argue about the usage and influence of social media, given that it is highly used and has played an important role in changing far distances to small. Although, the impact of its overuse has left more suffering and wrong facts throughout the countries.