Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The problem of repairing old houses has been highlighted on the topic. Some people assert that aged facilities should be removed by new ones, whereas many others argue that we should take care of the existing buildings. I am a favour of latter view. A lot of arguments can be made that saving aged buildings is necessary. First and foremost, they are the keepers of history. For instance, imagine some old church in the city centre, which provides the spirit of the past times, where you can feel yourself in the nineteenth century, instead of the present day. Also, the removing approach is highly inconvenient and unreasonable, for example creating a new facility can be more expensive than looking after the old ones. Furthermore, crashing an old facility and then building a new one takes a lot of time. Moreover, this process makes the nearby area not acceptable for the comfortable life of the citizens, so they have to cope with noise, dirt and so on. On the other side, some people do not approve this statement. I suppose, I can understand their position, which is modernisation. Some part of the population, mainly youths, wants their town to be stylish and fashionable. And for this purpose, old buildings should be replaced by skyscrapers and modern houses. In conclusion, there are two opposite views on this subject. I assume that knocking down old houses for the renovation of the city is not appropriate. Instead of development of technological progress, humanity should respect and remember their own history.