The mass media, including TV, radio and newspapers, have great influence in shaping people’s ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People tend to receive information about news, lifestyles, or entertainment through various means of communication such as television, radio, and newspapers. Along with technological developments, individuals are shifting to other tools like social media or online magazines as sources of knowledge. However, I greatly agree with the second opinion, and this essay will assess both viewpoints. Firstly, there are various types of television programs shown to audiences. Television broadcasters produce many kinds of genres to attract diverse viewers. For instance, sports are one of the spectacles that have many fans. The English Premier League, the world’s most outstanding football competition, is the target of many TV channels to become official broadcast partners due to its large fanatic following. While it is often said that the number of television audiences is continuously declining, television will remain the primary medium due to its extensive coverage for the next several years. On the other hand, people nowadays prefer to get new information using their gadgets, especially from social media platforms such as TikTok, Instagram reels, YouTube shorts, and online news platforms. This trend has happened because of the increasing internet penetration, allowing societies to access information anytime and anywhere as long as they have devices. My father used to be unable to read the newspaper if the officer did not deliver it to my home. However, newspaper companies have transformed regardless of changes in customer behavior. For example, Tempo, the leading newspaper producer in Indonesia for several years, has announced to discontinue their printed paper edition and move to an online bulletin. While it is true that the boomer generation sometimes faces difficulties in following this trend, the millennial and Z generations will persuade older people to adopt it. In conclusion, TV, radio, and newspapers still have their own customers, even though their positions are gradually being dethroned by internet-based means. I believe that today's society will choose the media that is the easiest to reach and start leaving traditional mass media.