Environmental problems such as pollution and climate change affect all the people in the world. Therefore, individuals cannot be expected to change their behavior and only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is argued by some people that there are so few effects that individuals can do to tackle environmental issues, which have an adverse impact on human lives, therefore, only authorities and large organizations can take actions to mitigate these global issues. I personally believe that both politicians and ordinary people are responsible for protecting our planet. On the one hand, there are several solutions that individuals can help to reduce the damage of human activities to our environment. Firstly, people should buy effective-energy household items and use recycled water for flushing toilets which could help to reduce energy and the amount of water consumption. Secondly, by reusing carriers and bags when people go shopping or to supermarkets, we can greatly contribute to reducing numerous plastic trash, which is thrown into landfill every day. On the other hand, there are some approaches that only can be done by the government and big companies due to their power and financial resources. One of the most effective solutions that government officials should introduce a law to force manufacturers and industrial zones to use renewable energy such as wind, solar, and water energy instead of fossil fuels in order to cut down the toxic gas emission and liquid waste emitted into air and ocean which contaminate soil and marine ecosystem. Furthermore, it is important for governments to invest money in public infrastructures, particularly public transport, to encourage citizens to use buses and trains instead of private vehicles. This is because cars and motorbikes release a huge amount of exhaust fumes and gas emissions, which lead to air pollution and climate change. In conclusion, protecting our environment only can be successfull with the cooperation of both authorities and individuals.