Young people are often influenced in their behaviours and situations by others in the same age. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages.

There is a common belief that nowadays teenagers have to face up to the accepted and validated by their friends or peers.In my perspective, the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand,a notable upside is that peer pressure may motivate young people into discovering new interests that they may not have considered otherwise. This means, if they have pressure by their fellow millennials they will try their best day by day.To illustrate, after seeing photos of their peers at the gym, an adolescent might feel encouraged to take part in similar physical exercises, which is helpful for their physical health in turn. Besides young people usually take others, especially with whom they have close intimacy, as role models. Therefore, if peers can set a good example for their counterparts, they will probably achieve improvement in both academic and social aspects.When teenagers look at their friends get successful they will have an effort to keep up with them. On the other hand,the negative should not be overshadowed by the positive. It is worth mentioning that the stress originating from a comparison among children would make them feel inferior to others, which leads to the fear of expressing themselves as well as potential self-distancing from family and friends. This can be an alarming issue as the worst consequence that may follow is suicide. In conclusion, although peer pressure can prove conceived by supporting motivation, it is extremely tiny when compared to its multitude of drawbacks.