News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In contemporary media society, a large number of information relies on different platforms to transmit a variety of stories. Some state that pictures published in newspapers and TV are more effective rather than specific word content. To this point, I personally believe that both pictures and words play an equal role in different publishments. To begin with, there is no doubt that pictures have the feature of visuals directly. In today's world, there is a huge number of information to be published on different platforms. People looking at the pictures are more rapidly to choose the most interesting news to deeply read. For example, when an older man can though browse the picture related to his interests in the newspaper and then read it deeply because reading every single small word is difficult for an older man. It can be beneficial to readers who do have not enough time or have poor eyesight. By contrast, pictures posted on platforms are selected by editors, which could not introduce and transmit the whole event. It has also some negative issues such as causing misleading effects. For instance, some magazines like to publish some entertaining information such as two famous stars standing together in a picture and creating some negative news. If they do not explain with words, this will lead to some terrible judgement. Because a picture cannot show all of the details about events. In conclusion, pictures play an important role in information media. However, editors should choose some neutral position pictures to guide the audience to read words. Otherwise it could cause misleading.