“As languages such as English, Spanish and Mandarin become more widely spoken, there is a fear that many minority languages may die out. Some countries have taken steps to protect minority languages. What is your view of this practice?”

There have existed a great number of languages across the timeline, on the other hand, as many as disappeared, as well. Nowadays, some societies are anxious about whether non-dominant languages vanish. Indeed, fears are not unfounded because languages such as English and Spanish are increasingly popular. In this essay, I will mention the importance of protecting less-known languages and feasible challenges for this purpose. First and foremost, a language is a civilization which is also an integral part of a community's identity. To illustrate, There are many more words that mean “snow” in Mongolian than in other languages owing to the fact that weather conditions shaped the culture. Namely, the link between perception and language is closely related. Consequently, the disappearance of a language means a civilization's perishing, too. This perishment will probably make our world darker than it is now. Moreover, these languages have importance for history. To exemplify, If Sumerians wipe out, we miss the opportunity to read Sumerian sources. However, there are hardships which can be encountered while trying to conserve these languages. For example, widespread languages become continuously popular; thus, people lose interest in cultures and languages under the influence of the education system, media and business. Although there are some possible difficulties, it is good to give it a try, for multilingualism also fosters understanding and empathy between different cultures and societies. Overall, whereas multilingualism provides lots of advantages such as tolerance of ambiguity, a further empathy, it is really hard to preserve these languages because of the globalised world. However, it is worth struggling with the global world in order to maintain enriched and integrated cultures.