Some people believe that children should study all subjects at school, while others think they should only study subjects they are good at or find interesting. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are varied notions on how the curriculum should be designed and implemented in schools. Some people opine that traditional curriculum of teaching all the subjects should be continued while some believe that they should be taught only those subjects in which they have interest. In my opinion, children should be taught all the subjects till a certain age and then they should be free to choose their particular area of study. On the one hand, learning all the subjects in school is crucial for the overall development and general awareness of a student. It means that school students should have basic knowledge and understanding of each topic which widens their wealth of knowledge and not limiting them to their area of interest. For example, basic mathematic knowledge like additions and subtractions is important for everyone in day-to-day activities. Also, this gives them the opportunity to choose their favourite subject after having an idea about the different subjects. However, I also believe that a child should not be forced to study subjects in which he has no or little interest as this outdated study plan deprives a pupil of the flexibilty and also takes away the learning spirit from an individual. Thus, making him an average scorer when he could clearly excel in his choice of subject. Moreover, students learn by heart when they like a particular subject and perform better without any scoldings. To conclude, I firmly believe that, while the knowledge of all topics is crucial for a child's overall development, they should also be given the opportunity to study their favourite subjects in depth.