the best way to cut down crime rate is by building more prisons and giving longer sentences. do you agree or disagree?

As the crime rate hikes up all around the world, some people insist that making more prisons and punishing with longer sentences can be considered the most efficient measure to ease the rate. With regard to this given notion, I totally stand against this idea. In this essay, I would like to explain my opinion. First of all, I believe that those given methods are not suitable for long-term solutions. Although the country builds more jails, technically it does not stop offenders from committing crimes but offers them more room to stay. Moreover, it costs a plethora of money, time, and space. For instance, according to the government report, citizens tend to feel unsatisfied with their tax money being used for criminals. Also, people normally do not want prisons to be built in their neighbourhoods. Hence, this is not a good means for solving this phenomenon. Secondly, when it comes to cutting down the crime rate by giving criminals longer sentences, this measure can work for casual offences but not for serious ones such as large-scale scams, and killings. To elaborate, as per research, criminals usually do not care about how long they would get sentenced before committing crimes. Accordingly, it will not give a huge impact on those criminals who already know that they are going to get sentenced. To summarise, those ideas which are suggested in this notion may be able to solve the problem. However, I believe that we need more proper treatments to cut down the crime rate. Hence, I disagree with these given solutions.