More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

There has been a growing trend of working from home in recent years, especially after the COVID pandemic. Although the trend is not without disadvantages, I believe the upsides can justify these. On the one hand, there are several drawbacks to remote working. First, if employees work at their homes, there will be a lack of face-to-face conversation in the company, which can result in misunderstandings and conflicts among them. This would not only erode teamwork and collaboration but also increase the employee turnover rate in an organisation. Second, when people work at home, they are susceptible to numerous potential distractions, which can be particularly harmful to those who lack the capability to manage their time. For example, workers who are not disciplined can stop handling their tasks and comfortably watch video clips on Youtube when they are at home, leading to poor work-related outcomes. On the other hand, remote working can be beneficial to the workforce in many different ways. Not having to travel to the office can save employees a great deal of time, especially for those in densely populated areas where traffic jam is a serious problem. In fact, even having an extra half hour of time each day can make a big difference in an employee's health and overall physical and mental wellness if he or she allocates it for exercise. In addition, working at home can allow people can set up an ideal working environment to enhance their productivity and creativity. For instance, being in an isolated room without distractions from coworkers can help a software engineer write code much faster as he can fully concentrate on his task. In short, the trend has both potential drawbacks and benefits. However, I believe the advantages of working at home can be more significant since workers can have more personal time and set up an ideal environment that allows them to be more productive.