Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems to what extend you agree or disagree what other measures do you think must be effective

It is an irrefutable fact that the problem of traffic congestion and pollution has significantly in the past few years. Therefore, some suggest that charging more on fossil fuels will cause a reduction of vehicles operating on it and thereby improve the air quality. I completely disagree with this notion. My stand along with other effective methods to deal with the existing problem is explained henceforth. Beyond doubt, the majority of people use their own vehicles which run on petrol and diesel for commuting. Thus, in the absence of any popular alternative for these fossil fuels operated automobiles people would be forced to travel by them even if it becomes costly. A perfect example of this was witnessed in Bengaluru in the year 2009 where there was a massive surge in the price of petrol yet people paid for it because the city lacked other efficient means of transport. Apart from this, the upper strata of society remain unbothered by the change in the price of fuels whereas the middle and lower socio-economic class people suffer. This is because a common man has a limited income source and the price increment will only add financial burden. Moreover, private jets and luxury cars which are owned by wealthy people cause more air degradation. There are several compelling ways to deal with air pollution as well as avoiding traffic jams. Firstly, people must be educated about the harmful gases that vehicles emit when the fuels in them are combusted. This will not only draw their attention toward the health hazards occurring because of it but also to the environmental issue of pollution. For example, organising roadshows addressing the problem along with both providing and justifying the solution will enlighten the public. Additionally, eco-friendly means of transport must be introduced and advertised frequently to encourage laymen to use them. For instance, electronic bikes and scooters should be launched to control the air quality index. Finally, society as a whole should be motivated to use public transport more to avoid jams because more people using public conveyance, fewer roadblocks and thus less exhaust from cars. Hence to conclude, increasing the rate of fuels is not an effective way to control pollution and traffic and the only resolution of this colossal crisis is by educating the community about it along with introducing eco-friendly automobiles.