More and more people are using the internet to contact existing friends and even make new friends. Some people are of the opinion that this has strengthened relationships between existing friends, whilst others think the opposite is true. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, individuals use the modern technology that is available to contact their friends or even start new relations with others. While some consider this usage of the internet to contact people would promote the friendships between each other, others might opine that nothing could replace face-to-face talking. I do support the first viewpoint, in this essay, I will elaborate on my argument. Firstly, it has become a reality now to utilize the Internet applications such as Whatsapp, Facebook, and Twitter to chat or to talk with friends, colleagues, and relatives. on one hand, it makes people able to contact each other anytime anywhere, and as a result of this, they can preserve their connections and keep their relationships alive. For example, friends who live far away from each other or even who always have work commitments prevent them from visiting or seeing their close friends, now they can make video calls through the Internet therefore they strengthen their connections as long as they are capable to be online. In addition, those who seek new friendships, this trend brings numerous benefits for them for example, using dating applications are viral nowadays, thus many have a plethora of options to start new relations with new people from all over the world. For instance, In Egypt, the recent analyzes of social relationships, say that the vast majority of citizens heavily rely on the Internet to contact their friends. On the other hand, those who believe that the opposite viewpoint is the true, would argue that human relationships have been affected badly by this technology. If there was not such a technology, ties will remain in a strong condition because we see and talk to each other personally and regularly. Moreover, some talks should not be on video calls or phone calls due to the significant importance of them. In conclusion, although it is now common to hear a lot of voices criticize this trend of using the Internet to contact friends, I think the benefits I mentioned far outweigh the drawbacks.