Nowadays, more people are becoming overweight. Some people think that the solution is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a controversial perspective heating up a debate over the fact that raising the price of high-fat foods can be an effective solution for an increasing number of individuals who are becoming obese. While it has some downsides, I partially have a consensus with this idea. Without a shadow of doubt, making fattening sugary foods more expensive would certainly curb the rise in obesity. Since many buyers are sensitive to changes in the price, and clearly not everybody can afford expensive foodstuff. For example, young people in Vietnam frequently order fast food such as Domino pizza or fried chicken from KFC because of the cheaper cost youngsters have to pay compared to other food. So if the cost became higher and expensive to them, they would not be able to purchase it. Hence, it is an efficient way to hike the price of fast food. While the beneficial advantage of rising prices on fattening foodstuff in reducing obesity is widely acknowledged, its counterpart still lingers. It will lead to a big problem that companies majoring in this field may face financial strain and lose their market due to the higher prices of fast food. To be specific, huge fast food enterprises namely McDonald’s and Pizza Hut can face a decrease in profit of the company if they change strategy. Therefore, solely relying on price hikes may do more harm than good. In conclusion, I mostly agree with the idea of raising the prices of fatty foods to address the problem of obesity, however it can negatively affect the economy of a nation, which is another severe matter.