In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

It is argued that in some parts of the world, people feel more risky even if the rate of serious crime is decreasing. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and provide some possible solutions to address it. People can feel less safe than before because the number of crime types is increasing, even though serious crimes happen less frequently. With the development of technology, residents in many countries now rely on smart devices to fulfil their daily tasks including payment for necessities and connection with their loved ones, leading to opportunities for cybercriminals to steal or fraud their personal information for further crimes. As cybercrimes need the basic knowledge of technology to fulfil, the general public who lacks a background in this field can feel harder to protect their property or identify those crimes in advance, resulting in an increasing feeling of risk. For example, it is reported that crimes on the internet have become a major threat to residents living in countries where digital payment and smartphones are prevalent, especially for elderly people. To solve the problem, there are many solutions that can be taken. On an individual level, people can avoid Internet fraud by using official applications of banks and big companies, increasing their notation when someone else asks them for their password or detailed account information, and seeking the help from police when necessary. In addition, governments can use legislation to protect their citizens from these new types of crime by increasing the penalties or jail periods for those criminals or using a more strict process for companies if they want to include digital payments in their business progress. For instance, the Japanese government made a great example for other developed countries in preventing digital crimes by publishing an official application of police, which is preinstalled in every smartphone sold in Japan. With this app, people can easily find knowledge to enhance their ability for fraud and get a notification if potential cyber fraud is detected by the application. In conclusion, people in different places in the world can feel less safe while serious crimes happened less frequently because the emergency of cybercrimes makes them harder to protect their personal information and property safety, however, both individuals by enhancing their ability to identify crimes and government by regulations related to online payments can help to deal with the problems.