The only way to improve safety of our roads is to give much stricter punishments on driving offences. To what extent do you agree with this idea? Answer

Day by day, the number of casualties on the road skyrocketed as if everyone is taking lives as a joke. One of the solution that seems sensible to overcome this problem is by giving a heavier penalties toward the people who disobey the laws. In this essay, I will be discussing on why I am firm with this ideology. A more serious penalties will result in people being scared to disobeying the laws; thus, decreasing the number of driving offences on the road as they are more prone to follow the rules. To cite an example, countries with death penalty towards drunk driver have a lower fatality rate on road compared to other countries. To summarise, the road will be safer as people does not want to be penalised. The major drawback of this idea will be the inequality towards different classes of people especially the working class. It can be unfair towards the poor when heavier punishment is implemented as they are lacking in income whilst the rich do not have to worry to commit an offence as they are capable of paying the summons. Moreover, imposing a stricter punishment would not address the root of the problems which is the moral value of people which is the main concern of the problem. In conclusion, it is apparent that implementing a stricter laws is crucial to assist the the problem that are faced by our society in the hopes of reducing numbers of driving offences. As a responsible person, we must take part in our society to improve as a whole as we will reap what we sow.