Some people think that children should be taught to be competitive in school. Others, however, say that cooperation and team working skills are more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Until now, people are continuing to expoundon expound a powerful argument about the importance of children being taught cooperation, while others consider being competitive is better. While each view has its merits, I am a proponent of the former argument. An outgoing and cooperative personality is crucial to prevent loneliness. During their young ages, children should participate in teamwork, which might be assigned by their teacher, or help with household activities, such as washing dishes. By doing that, they will be able to establish strong friendships full of rapport and camaraderie among family members. In addition, their skills in communication will be developed, making future relations happen with more ease. As a result, the kid will grow up as a successful person with people surrounding him or her, mitigating and helping him or her in harsh situations. For instance, researchers have proved that pupils having many relations with people are less likely to experience isolation, depression, and other conditions. Yet, becoming competitive is a good but not a necessary skill. On one hand, children learn how to become independent, handling all tasks alone, which is awesome as it fosters a self-learning path, where they are immersed in learning new skills to stay ahead of the competition. For that reason, many children that enrol on a math competition usually do extensive work like studying from external materials to ensure they win. Nevertheless, according to a scientific newspaper, these youngsters were found to experience more hardships, once they are adults, when proposing for marriage or even just making new friends. Therefore, I firmly believe that it is more important to focus on educating youths on how to become cooperative rather than competitive, because of its great impact on their potential, but that does not mean to desert that other skill completely.