Do the dangers derived from the use of chemical in food production and preservation outweighs the advantages?

It is being argued that the harmful impacts of using chemicals in producing and preserving food items outweigh its benefits. Although chemicals and preservatives help in the production of large quantities for the increase in population, the risk of attached diseases such as cancer far outweighs the advantage. The main merit of using chemicals is that they help in the large production of food items to cope with the rise in population. In other words, the population is rising at a high pace, and to provide sufficient quantity, it becomes necessary to use chemicals. For instance, if a farmer will do organic farming then he will be able to produce only half of the number of crops compared to agricultural production using fertilizers and chemicals. However, people's health should not be compromised to maintain the quantity of production. The main demerit is the rise in diseases such as cancer due to the use of harmful and illegal chemicals in the production of food. That is to say, the number of cancer patients has risen, and it has been found that the main cause behind this increase is the use of fertilizers in agriculture. For example, in India, cancer patients have doubled in the last 20 years, and researchers have found that almost all of this were due to the use of illegal fertilizers used in the food they have eaten. Therefore, people's health should be given utmost importance. In conclusion, perhaps fertilizers help in the production of food to feed the increasing population, the increase in cases of cancer due to the use of chemicals far outweighs the advantages because people's health should not be compromised.