Many criminals commit further crimes as soon as they are released from prison. What do you think are the causes of this? What effect will this have on society?

Many offenders return to a life of crime after being punished for a certain period of time. There are certain causes and effects behind this issue. This essay will explain in detail regarding this problem with relevant examples. There are two main reasons why offenders commonly commit offences again after leaving prison. Firstly, there is no process of re-training and re-educating them while in prison, so they are not given an opportunity to learn essential life skills for starting new lives and also develop an understanding about religion and morals. Another cause is mixing low crime rate criminals with high crime rate criminals. By being mixed indiscriminately, there is a growing tendency for high-class offenders to influence others. If efforts to change prisoners are not carried out by related institutions, it will not have a deterrent effect on them. The effect will develop from the above problems if this is not anticipated immediately. To exemplify, without rehabilitation, prisoners who have not changed morally will find it difficult to mingle back in society. Another effect is employers do not prefer to hire someone who has made a heavy mistake in the past that resulted in prison. Lack of employment opportunities pushes these people to try illegal ways to earn money to fulfil their daily needs, such as eating and accommodation. This action creates a harmful effect on the economy since these people cannot join the workforce. In conclusion, biases and a lack of work possibilities drive ex-offenders to commit new crimes, which harm the economy and social harmony. Therefore, the government should address this issue in order to create new regulations that will allow ex-offenders to live in the community.