Task 2: An increasing number of people are choosing to have cosmetic surgery in order to improve their appearance. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is said that cosmetic surgery is a popular choice among people nowadays in order to increase their beauty. This essay will elaborate on the reasons and my perspective below. There are several reasons why the popularity of cosmetic surgery is increasing nowadays and the foremost reason is that it is the fastest and most convenient way to become beautiful. In society, there are a lot of methods that allow people to be a better version of themselves such as through sports, workouts, mewing, and associated things, but they all need time and work hard to see results. Conversely, cosmetic surgeries only a few weeks or shorter for the healing process, and then they can already see the outcomes. Another cause of this phenomenon is that people want to follow the beauty trend. For example, a lot of fans want to look the same as their models, so they have surgeries because of that. Another example of this is that some celebrities would do some surgeries to look more similar to the public's aesthetic trend in order to have more followers. However, there is no doubt that cosmetic surgeries have both positive and negative impacts on each individual. On the one hand, there may be a chance of failure appearing during the surgeries, therefore, leading to horrible deformation of our faces and bodies. On the other hand, this kind of surgery also provides a chance for people with abnormalities naturally or accidentally such as birthmarks, scars, and similar things to be more confident. In conclusion, although beauty surgeries have both advantages and consequences such as providing a chance for unlucky ones or failures during the process, there are still many people who want to do this because they want to follow the trend and it is the fastest and the most convenient way.