Some people think secondary school students and high school students should be allowed to choose academic courses leading to university or practical courses leading to careers such as carpenters. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are a lot of people that suggest that after graduating from high school, students can have the opportunity to choose what they wanted to study such as academic or practical courses. In fact, this is how the most applied education system around the world function. I partly agree with this saying. On one hand, once a student chooses one path, it might determine how one enters society as their future occupation. But the problem arrives, whether students around 18 years old have enough maturity to decide their future at that time. For example, students tired of studying turn to start working as a carpenter, they might find it fun in the beginning. After a long time, they start to feel bored and found out that their income is relatively lower than other professions such as a doctor. Overall, we can see that if juveniles can make decisions without thinking thoroughly about the consequences, it might lead to they will regret it in the end. On the other hand, the education system that insisted offspring should enter the university and then choose what to do after graduating will waste their precious time. Practical courses such as paper making need time to build up a reputation as well as learning till they can fully master. For instance, a scion that has lots of interest in passing down traditional making skills will need to waste 4 years in university, eventually wasting time and money for nothing. To conclude, if students can choose freely, they have the opportunity to go after their dreams without wasting time going through academic courses which they did not need. In conclusion, I admit that students should have the chance to decide their future. However, the consequences of regretting after a few years are too heavy that can destroy the younger generation. In order to avoid this, I still believe that students should take the academic journey to obtain general knowledge before entering the industry as this can minimize the probability to have dismay about the life they live.