Many students find it difficult to concentrate or pay attention at school. What are the reasons? What could be done to solve this problem?

Many learners struggle to focus in different learning institutions. The reasons for this are that the human brain has a limited time limit for concentrating, and students have many distractions at school, such as friends and sports. These challenges can be resolved by creating many breaks during learning and making the learning process interesting or fun. It is also prudent to set aside time for school work or study to curb the effects of distractions. This essay will discuss these matters at length. First and foremost, it is difficult for many students to concentrate at school because the human brain can only concentrate for a short period, the reason why many lessons are scheduled with several breaks. Likewise, there are so many distractions at school such as friends and sporting activities; these divert attention away from learning. For example, it has been found by studies in several schools in the USA, that when students make friends, they stop paying attention to their studies and become interested in games and leisure activities with their mates. To resolve these issues, first, parents and teachers should assist the learners to create and follow set timetables for individual study. At such times, they must give all their attention to learning rather than playing. Secondly, learning institutions need to create many breaks for students so that their brains can regain composure and strength; learning must also be made more fun, as in the case of many learn-through-play activities which allow for more relaxation and concentration. For instance, in the same studies conducted in the USA, it was found that teachers resorted to using games and other interactive learning methods to promote concentration. These improved the pass rates in the schools surveyed. In conclusion, therefore, focusing at school is a problem for learners because of the distractions they encounter, such as their friends, but also because their brains can only assimilate small amounts of information at a time. The solutions to these issues are to make learning fun and to create as many breaks as possible to re-energise the brain. These are the issues the essay has discussed.