some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Thanks to the advance of technology, a lot of people, including youngsters, use their smartphones for hours every day. This is a common phenomenon since they are willing to get up-to-date news and trend. In my opinion, this is a negative development because it may fade the relationships of family and friends and have bad effects on their physical health. Spending much time on cell phones becomes general because they want to catch up with new trends. The Internet provides them with enormous information and enables them to access it as fast as possible. In other words, the more frequently they research on mobile phones, the newer information they can know. They are addictive for children, and, finally young people cannot stop themselves from using these devices. This will lead to a negative development. This is because essential relationships may be broken and their body health is affected badly. Firstly, they are likely to spend less time with their family and friends. They may prefer chatting with internet friends to real friends. That is why they lost the community where they should belong in the real world. Secondly, children who use phones too much tend to be obese because they do not go outside to play but stay home with no exercise. Moreover, watching a screen for a long time worsens their eyesight. In conclusion, children use their smartphones for long hours in order to acquire new trends and it causes negative effects on their relationships and physical health.