Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whether to learn a foreign language, for example, English, has been a hot issue for a long period. Some people argue that it is not a must unless one would travel to or work in a foreign country. While others claim that learning a foreign language could be beneficial except that. So, is there a necessary to learn a foreign language? It's true that many people spend an enormous time studying a foreign language, especially K12 students in China, because it is a compulsory subject at school. Some educators criticize this phenomenon as they believe most of these students would not use English at all in their whole life unless they go abroad to travel or work. Therefore, they clearly point out that learning a foreign language is an unnecessary waste of time, and with this time, they can concentrate on other valuable skills which could be much more practical in their later life. However, the purpose of learning a foreign not only involves taking it as a tool to communicate, but a mediation for cross-culture communication. Language conveys profound insights and values of its culture. By learning a foreign language, we not only learn how to use it in everyday life, but to understand its deep-hidden wisdom and values. Even though one may not have a chance to go abroad, it does not impede him to gain advanced foreign cultures by reading newspapers and magazines, listening to the radio or watching TV, and even short videos on YouTube. In addition, learning a foreign language could help people practice their brains and prevent them from getting a mental disease. That is why lots of aged people prefer to learn a foreign language after they retire. In conclusion, learning a foreign language benefits us a lot rather than helping us travel to or work in a foreign country. If you have time, try to learn a new language, which would bring you surprises.