The private car has greatly improved individual freedom of movement and has become a status symbol for many people. Yet the use of private cars has contributed to some of today's most serious problems. How can the use of private cars be reduced?

Nowadays owning a car provides you with a lot more freedom due to the fact that you can travel anywhere without experiencing the excessive extra stops public transport offers. some people also view it as a status symbol, especially when you own a German one as they are very exclusive and really expensive. Nevertheless, private automobiles have been the cause of many environmental issues globally, and so, this essay will discuss a couple of solutions that could be implemented to reverse this problem. Daily usage of millions of cars brings about environmental issues such as air pollution contributing to breathing problems. Additionally, it also eventually thins out the ozone layer allowing harmful UV rays to enter the atmosphere causing skin cancer. To combat this, firstly, tax zone areas should be implemented in places that have a lot of congestion such as city centres, for instance. The more the public is taxed the less they are inclined to use their cars. weight gain is also a problem that comes about from the excessive use of cars. Many citizens that drive everywhere put on weight quicker, America, for example, is one of the nations that have the most morbidly obese residents worldwide. Therefore, I believe if more cities have pedestrian zones, the public would exercise passively as more local attractions would be easily accessible. Thirdly, carbon-free travel, such as trams which run on electricity, contribute to no pollution, will be an excellent addition to public transportation. In conclusion, governmental authorities should implement a couple of these easy fixes right away as they would greatly impact the global environment and even people's health positively.