More and more people are using the internet to contact existing friends and even make new friends. Some people are of the opinion that this has strengthened relationships between existing friends, whilst others think the opposite is true. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In recent times, there have been debates as regards the use of social media to connect with new friends and also form greater bonds with old acquaintances. However, as we all know, families are different and their take on different issues differ. This particular essay is to discuss the varying opinions and their strengths. The advent of technology has greatly fostered relationships,especially among societies that are worlds apart. Mostly, this technological development has greatly helped numerous nations around the world to connect more with each other baring their different backgrounds and closeness. To elucidate further, for example, The Nigerian Tribune of January 5th, 2021 did an article on how Facebook and Instagram have millions of subscribers all over the globe. These communities are linked together through modernization. This, however, is done without these individuals seeing each other but is drawn closely by these different means of communication. In addition, the rate at which armed robbery and kidnappings have increased can be attributed to high exposure to social media. Furthermore, a lot of people flaunt their wealth and achievements on Instagram and Facebook. For example, an incident was published in The Guardian Newspaper on November 1st, 2020 where a family that posted their vacation pictures on Facebook were later robbed the following week. Another instance occurred when a family of two were trailed by kidnappers after seeing their post on Instagram in which their house address and street number showed in the picture that was posted. Moving forward, industrialization has come to stay. Furthermore, these technological improvements have made life easier for most individuals who have families abroad or in different locations around the universe. Moreso, social media has helped different businesses create customers that they never thought they could have just by posting pictures. In conclusion, life itself is continuously advancing and everything within it has to grow. Also, many folks can think of moving overseas because they know there are different improved ways they can continuously relate with everyone around the earth. This, however, can be said to be a result of the internet.