Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion

The details required during an interview vary; this sometimes depends on the company policies or the person conducting the interviews. More information on preferred leisure activities, and family/marital history is some questions that can be asked. A few people believe this is useless, while others beg to differ. This essay aims to analyze both sides of the conversation and further delve into why I agree that it is unnecessary. The more you know about the personal life of a person, the more you can understand their thought process and also their attitudes. We cannot ignore the sole fact that what a person goes through at home can in turn affect their performance at the office. Individuals who have multiple kids, for instance, can show up to work late, tired and disoriented. This significantly affects their productivity at work as they may need a longer time to settle in or even have to take more leaves than required. Having insight into a potential staff's status and lifestyle is important so as to gauge their capabilities as well as distractions. However, we cannot ignore the fact that an employee can be judged and even mistreated by the organisation when they know about their personal lives. Applicants (especially women) often opt not to provide these details as it oftentimes gives room for discrimination, disrespect and judgement. As a married woman, you can sometimes be passed over for a group trip or a promotion that is rightfully yours because the company may assume you already have enough responsibilities; therefore truncating your career growth. I have learnt work-life balance, hence, it does not in any way affect the quality of my work. Besides, what is wrong with wanting to keep one's private life private? In conclusion, an employer may decide whatever they want to know about an applicant. Although these can help you to further understand a job seeker, I believe it can be avoided.