“Libraries are irrelevant in the age of the internet and should not be publicly funded.” Do you agree or disagree?

Libraries are the citadels of knowledge with plenty of resources available for reference and recreation. However, similar sources are also available online,especially to those who are unable to access certain materials that may be limited. With the presence of these sources, the relevance of libraries is arguably becoming less significant which would be discussed in the following paragraphs.  The first case for the notion is that the maintenance and upkeep of libraries are costing taxpayers a huge sum of money to be funded. The physical prints of books require physical capital such as papers and fuel to transport the publications. On the contrary, authors can publish books directly to any electronic platform with minimal fees. An example of this is Kobo Books, which is an application to access buyable books online. Therefore, it is proven that libraries are comparatively more expensive to maintain than electronic copies. Another interesting viewpoint supporting the argument is the high accessibility of these resources regardless of mobility. It is important to first understand that some copies of literature may be elusive and hard to come by all the libraries due to several reasons namely its historical values and the physical condition of the books. Merong Mahawangsa for example is a Malay antological literature that is fragile and has to be kept in a monitored enclosure to ensure its longevity. With its copy being available online, people from all walks of life can access and cite the poetic piece. Hence, it is empirical that the Internet holds a superior advantage in terms of convenience. As a whole, it is undeniable that libraries once hold great importance to provide pieces of information to the general public and academia. Despite the history, we must make use of technological advancement towards our own goods as a society. Libraries should be funded by the public in tandem with online access to the nation's education which is crucial for its development.