Shortage of houses has become a severe problem in the cities today and only the government can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

In this modern era, each individual wants to live in big cities to enjoy a higher standard of living and get bigger opportunities. The concern of shortage of living space in urban areas exists due to the growing number of migrants. It is believed by some people that it can be resolved by the government. I partially agree with the statement. Although officials can subsidize the development of more residential sites; however, it can not boost the supply of soil to build more buildings. To begin with, Subsidizing either in the form of lower taxes on real estate development or providing funds to start residential building projects can help to increase the supply of apartments. For instance, In 2022 City of Surrey announced a levy on taxes and issued grants to townhome building projects. These initiatives help to increase the supply of living areas. Therefore, the administration can frame certain policies to curb the problem of fewer residents. On the other hand, shore is a scarce resource, its supply can never be increased. For example, a survey conducted in 2022 show house prices in bigger cities such as Toronto or Vancouver skyrocket due to increase demand and less supply of houses. Because the region is limited, a certain amount of development can be made to it. Thus, terrain scarcity makes the ministry's job tough to deal with the issue of shortage of houses. To conclude, the government can take certain initiatives to deal with the issue of the shortage of houses, but the limited area is still complex. Hence, I agree to some extent that the issue can be resolved. The government could introduce benefits in less populated areas in order to divert people from migrating to bigger cities.