Some people say history is one the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects related to life are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is not an easy task to decide what students should learn in school since there are too many choices for a comparatively limited period of time. Some people believe history should be a mandatory subject while others might argue that students should spend time on something more practical. The essay believes that both history and practical subjects should be covered in the class and history should always keep its important position in the curriculum. First, school is where students learn to be good global citizens in addition to acquire the knowledge and skill, that is why the courses like history should be mandatory. From the course, students could be able to learn what the country has experienced and what are the lessons they should draw from. For example, the history of the two World Wars might make the students realize the importance of keeping peace and avoiding conflicts. In addition, the local history could reflect the culture and traditions of the past and help to record what has happened. Only by learning history will students be able to pass on that knowledge from generation to generation. However, learning history does not mean that students do not need to learn subjects more relevant to life. School should no longer be an ivory tower where students are isolated from the outside world. Financial management for example, can be of great help for students in understanding what economy means in real life and they will be able to gradually achieve their capacity in handling money and managing initial budget. Therefore, these subjects might be provided as optional courses and students can select with the proper guidance from their teachers and parents. To sum up, learning history will enable students comprehensively understand the culture, life and people of the world, and thus work for a better future. The practical subjects are what students could learn to be able to better survive in the society. Both should be studied but more attention should be paid to the history study.