The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary period, advertisements have become one of the most effective activities of companies to remain in this competitive world. Some people believe that advertisements should be banned to prevent their negative consequences such as overconsumption and materialism. In this essay, I will discuss these groups' points of view and clarify why I disagree with them. Those in favour of stopping advertisements think that over the last decades, over-consumption has grown significantly and has made a materialistic world. As a result, the public is encouraged by advertisements to purchase a product that they do not require it. As they do not have the capacity to utilize all those products, they have to dump them as waste. For instance, it was estimated that almost 15% of customers participating in a survey conducted by Michigan University in 2015, did not require that product and advertising persuaded them to buy it. On the other hand, although advertisements have had such negative consequences, by banning them the majority of the community would lose their occupations. To illustrate, advertising is a promoted industry that has recruited different professionals from actors to directors. For example, based on recent statistics, almost 132 employees in Milestone - the biggest advertising company in London City- are working. Therefore, without this industry unemployment would deteriorate. To sum up, based on the arguments cited above, I totally disagree with the statement and I reckon demolishing the advertising industry would not be beneficial for the government and society. It is the government's responsibility to make policies in order to restrict possible negative consequences of publishing various types of advertisements.