Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

The growing popularity of solar energy has brought various advantages, such as energy security and less greenhouse gases emission, while opponents argue that unstable weather significantly impacts its efficiency. In this essay, I will elaborate more detail on why solar energy becomes a more popular solution, and discuss its advantages and drawbacks of it. Obviously, global warming has become the greatest challenge in this era. In order to prevent and slow its detrimental effects on humanity, sustainable energy, such as solar and wind power are introduced to reduce the emission of greenhouse gases, for instance, carbon dioxide and methane. Furthermore, due to efforts of education and political campaign, public awareness is raised toward climate change. Thus, solar energy is gradually adapted to households and gained prevalence in a short time. The benefits of solar energy are many, the most important one is to cut the emission of greenhouse gases, and ultimately stop global warming. Secondly, it provides energy security to each household, since individuals hold their own power supply, reducing the possibility of blackout. On the other hand, concerns are also raised because such renewable power is highly dependent on weather conditions. It is true that solar energy relies on direct sunlight, however, an alternative solution is also developed. Moving solar panel arrays are designed to lower impacts from cloudy days, as a result, related problems are solved by new technology. In conclusion, solar energy can not only reduce greenhouse emissions but also offer energy security to citizens. Although, some weaknesses are proposed, for example, dependency on direct sunlight, new methods are invented to resolve such issues. Consequently, due to the reasons listed above, I personally regard that the advantages considerably outweigh its disadvantages.