People find it difficult to speak in front of the public or to give a presentation. How important is to speak well in public. Do you think children at school should be taught public speaking?

Public speaking is one of the most important skill sets a person should have, but many find it hard to speak confidently in front of an audience. I believe that oratory skills should be inculcated in children at a young age so that they are habituated to handle addressing a large gathering. Although people have difficulty giving a speech, these situations are unavoidable when one starts working. For instance, in interviews, the candidate is selected based on how confidently he delivers his speech or how well he communicates. Being a good orator is reflective of a person's confidence in himself. Through communication, one can decide the way someone carries themselves as an individual. If the habit of speaking confidently is imbibed at an early age in schools, this makes it easier for them once they have to communicate outside their comfort zones. Most people have preconceived notions about others' opinions, but this may not be true. To illustrate, when someone delivers a speech and he happens to stutter, the audience does not maintain eye contact with him because they feel nervous as well. This implies that people don't want others to fail or to be put on the spot, instead, they want to see them succeed. Furthermore, if public speaking is incorporated into the curriculum of kids, then this would make it more comfortable for them, as they have to address their peers who are of the same age as they are. None would make judgements and it would be a fun activity for students. To conclude, I strongly think that teaching children soft skills such as oratory skills is necessary to boost their confidence in them. This would be an investment for their future, once they become adults dealing with society.