Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some experts that to start learning a foreign language is better for children studying at elementary school rather than at secondary school. Although there are some drawbacks to learning a foreign language at an earlier age, I believe that the benefits are far greater. On the one hand, there are a couple of fundamental reasons why learning a different language from the mother tongue is disadvantageous for children in primary school. Firstly, in primary, school it is better for students to focus on building fundamental skills in learning such as writing, reading, and calculating. This means that at this age, pupils have to strengthen their basic skills before focusing on other things like learning another language. It is because they may be overwhelmed with lots of subjects in school. Secondly, primary school students have cognitive strategies to aid their learning of a foreign language. They used Advanced literacy skills that they already build since the previous school to support their second language learning. For example, the secondary school will use a particular context from their experiences to learn the language so that they can learn faster as compared to the younger one. On the other hand, the younger the better becomes the main reason why children encourage to learn a second language at primary school. There is a critical period hypothesis that claims that children are born with innate language where an older age will atrophy. This means that younger children are intrinsically better language learners, and they are also more proficient learners. For instance, younger children who are exposed to foreign languages, and pronunciation are more likely than native speakers. In addition, learning a foreign language enhances problem-solving, attentional control, and the ability to switch tasks. The earlier children study the language, the better they have those skills. To sum up, while there are some disadvantages of students learning a second language since primary school, the advantages are more worth considering.