The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Today's society has witnessed an increase in English usage. Many people hold the belief that English would be the only language used by everyone from all over the world. From my perspective, I believe this can help access knowledge easier and cause the loss of cultural diversity because of the following reasons: On the one hand, it can broaden one's horizons and generate efficient communication. Some TV shows, programs, and apps do not support subtitles and people's tongues, if all people use English, there will be no need for subtitles. As a result, this can give better access to platforms and demand residents' knowledge and recreation. Moreover, overseas students will not have to suffer from language barriers and decrease the rate of misunderstanding circumstances because of different languages. On the other hand, this can create a lack of cultural diversity. Every language in the world represents a whole range of historical events and citizens' mindsets. For example, many words in Vietnam are inspired by Chinese, not only because of the closeness in geographic aspect but also illustrate a period of Vietnamese taken over by the Chinese. If people only use English, the young generation will not know clearly about their country's history which brings an end to cultural richness. In conclusion, although the idea of making English become the only language being used can change our knowledge, one can not deny that it can cause cultural loss. Looking forward, I can predict idea won't happen in the future while countries still encourage their citizens to acquire English for collaboration and globalization.