Some businesses now say that no one can smoke cigarettes in any of their offices. Some governments have banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it also takes away some of our freedom. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons.

These days, some companies do not allow smoking in their offices, even smoking in public has been prohibited by some governments. It is often argued that the action of prohibiting it is a good idea, but it snatches away some of our freedom as well. I strongly affirm the statement, though I disagree that prohibiting someone to smoke is taking their right, and I will talk about the reasons in this essay. To start with, smoking is one of the most dangerous activities one can do that can cause so many negative impacts. Firstly, someone can get addicted to smoking since cigarettes contain nicotine, which is an addictive substance. When addiction has developed, it is hard to get off from it. Secondly, the harmful substance are bad for one's health. Research has shown that smoking for a long time can deteriorate human bodies, thus accelerating the risk of having diseases, such as chronic pulmonary disease, mouth cancer, pharyngeal cancer, or even death. For example, a lot of smokers have died from lung cancer since their lungs cannot work anymore. However, I disagree that forbidding public smoking is taking one's freedom. Public smoking has made a lot of people uncomfortable with the smoke that is produced, because of the fact that not everyone can tolerate it. For instance, a person who has asthma cannot be in the same place as smokers because it will make their asthma relapse. Next, passive smokers can get lung-related health problems even though they are not the ones having this bad habit. It is because they still inhale it from the smokers around them, and this can be harmful to them. To conclude, smoking can lead to plenty of negative impacts, such as addiction and respiratory-related diseases. In my own perspective, smoking does no good, but it increases the risk of illness and death, therefore law ban on cigarettes is necessary. Even so, those who feel that their freedom is being taken can do some activities to distract themselves or smoke at a private place.