The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

One of the heated issues is the use of social media has increased dramatically in recent years. It led to the replacement of in person meetings. Many people think that the use of virtual platforms does not have any disadvantages. In my opinion, it has both pros and cons, and its drawbacks, unfortunately, outweigh its advantages. There is no doubt that social networks are now becoming more popular. Thanks to this development, people now can contact each other and stay in touch with their friends anywhere and anytime. Moreover, these virtual platforms made a great contribution to reduce the unemployment rate among the young people. The most familiar example of this is that by the Tik Tok applications, content creator or influencer are known as official jobs in many parts of the world. Nevertheless, many people still prefer face-to-face meetings because they want to spend more time with family and friends. It seems quite clear that the use of social applications does have enormous advantages. Despite these above benefits, the replacement of social media to face-to-face contact brings many drawbacks. The main impact of this development is that many people tend to stay at home all day without joining in any outdoor activities. This can lead to a decline in level of physical activity which can lead to heart diseases. It is proven that sitting in front of the screen might result in stroke among the youth. Take Vietnam as an example, many Vietnamese will have suffered from visual problems and heart diseases by 2050 if this condition continues. In addition, the overuse of social media can affect mental health. This can cause many severe consequences, especially depression. On the other hand, realizing the disadvantages of social platforms, many individuals decided to take part in sport clubs or do more exercises in order to boost both physical and mental health. In a nutshell, the disadvantages of the replacement of social platforms to in person meetings outweigh its advantages. Everyone should strike a balance between using social media and interacting face-to-face in order to reduce the drawbacks of social media.