Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

For as long as businesses have existed, advertisements have been used by them to persuade consumers to purchase their products or services. While some feel that commercials do not have any influence on customers, I agree with those who believe that they still play an important role in the decision-making process. On the one hand, some people believe that advertising is no longer effective for two major reasons. First, It is claimed that the general public has been bombarded with all types of adverts and, consequently, finds them pretty repetitive, tedious and monotonous. Therefore, they tend not to be influenced by what they see. Moreover, with the advent of the internet, customers have become wiser when they make their final decisions. This is mainly because it is easy to access a wealth of information including reviews of almost any product. As a result of this transparent information, consumers are less likely to be influenced by adverts. However, I side with those who believe that commercials still have a huge impact on buyers. Studies have shown that consumers are influenced subconsciously by advertising that they see on a regular basis. This means that even when consumers do not have any particular interest in a certain product, they are still impacted by its advertising if they are exposed to it frequently. As a result, they are more likely to purchase this product over its competitors when they have the need for it. Additionally, I feel that advertisers are extremely good at exploiting consumers. For example, goods are often endorsed by celebrities, such as famous sportspeople. As a consequence, fans are much more likely to buy the products promoted by their idols. In conclusion, although people may find advertising dull and boring, the subconscious impact of commercials and celebrity endorsements still affects their buying decisions. Therefore, on balance, I believe that consumers are still significantly influenced by commercials.