Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foregin country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some people think that you only have to speak your native language unless you have to go abroad, while others believe that there are other reasons to learn a foreign language.In my opinion,learning a foreign language benefits you in many ways. On the one hand,if you do not want to have trips or jobs in other countries,it is not necessary for you to learn another language that you are not familiar with, because it waste time and money.It is widely known that learning a foreign language is time-consuming for anyone. You have to practice speaking,writing,listening and reading.It means that if you do not have to use that frequently, it would be impractical to do that. Besides,people can barely learn a new language well without systemic teaching,so you may have to burn a hole in your pocket in acquiring knowledge about the language you learned. On the other hand,being a bilingual is advantage in terms of fun and epistemology. You can understand dramas,novels,and movies even though they are not translated into your native language,which may abolish some great metaphor jokes. Moreover,it definitely would expand your horizons because you can gain more information.Before I prepare for IELTS,I did not think learning a foreign language is useful in any aspect. However,with my English level rising,I find that I can access global news in one hand without any translation. As a result, I can get the news faster and more original, making me know more about what happened in other countries. In conclusion, this essay discussed both aspects of the reason being bilingual.For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that learning a foreign language is not only for work or travel but also for broad-mindedness and amusement. Consequently,it would lead you to a colourful life if you know a foreign language well.