Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that many individuals prefer the idea that helping with social services for free is a must for all students while attending high school. I firmly disagree with this opinion due to its consequences such as the development of apathy in personality and the lack of concentration in studying.  There are two key reasons why I believe that this tendency brings negative impacts. Firstly, studying in high school is the most crucial preparation for not only higher education but also a further career. If learners are made to participate in several unpaid community work, they will not be able to put all their efforts to do well in their main subjects. This trend sometimes makes students exhausted as well, which means they do not have enough energy to totally concentrate on their academic curriculum. Therefore, it affects their final results. Moreover, forcing youngsters to take part in such activities that they are not really passionate about may cause apathy. Doing social work will never be an efficient way to improve pupils' care or interest and let them understand their values in society unless it is freely chosen. For instance, one study shows that the freedom in joining voluntary campaigns they are interested in will help them have more passion and enhance their communication skill with the public. In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, I am strongly convinced that unpaid community service should be a volunteer part rather than a compulsory section in addition to the learners' ordinary high school programmes.