Some people think spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an common belief that speaking is the stronger form of communication compared to writing through an email or letter. Many have counteraguments and list of the benefits of written communication. Speaking from my experience, I have to agree completely due to factors like: body languages and the flow of a conversation. Those who is in favour of the direct way of communication point out the trait that is entirely unique to speaking in person to person, which is the way your body behaves when you are communicating. To be more concise, a person’s action like scratching their nose or playing with their hair can tell you many aspects about them which you can’t see only through words. For instance, many studies have shown that people can tell othes’s mood through things like the twitch of an eyebrown or how large the pupil is. It is wise to say that body languages are unique and beneficial traits that are exclusive to only spoken languagues. When you are speaking to someone in Messenger or Instagram, coversations are more often than not choppy which is not a problem for speaking face to face. The smoothness of communication is hindered by both parties not focusing because written languagues don’t grab people attention, if there is not a voice to remind a person to chat then many will forget and leave the conversation. An example can be seen in the phenomenon “ghosting” which is prevalent in the youth’s internet culture, teens will leave friends in the “read” status to surf tiktok or Snapchat leading to unfinished coversation. We can assume that this is a detrimental flaw of communication through writing. To conclude, spoken languages have lots of pros over their writing counterpart. Writing is still an essential way of communication, but I believe that speaking is better in most situations.