Plastic shopping bags are used widely and cause many environmental problems. Some people say they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, more and more people are condemning the use of plastic bags because it causes a lot of harm to the environment. In my view, if no alternative is found, the banning of plastic bags is unachievable. On the one hand, using plastic bags for shopping offers undeniable convenience, is cost-effective and applied for multiple purposes in daily life. For instance, plastic bottles play a crucial role in delivering water to drought-stricken areas. Compared to heavy glass bottles or fragile paper bags, indestructible plastic containers are undoubtedly a more desirable option. Additionally, the use of plastic in manufacturing processes enables producers to lower the price of final products, leading to meeting the demand from the majority of customers. On the other hand, searching for alternative materials remains a challenge. Currently, there is absolutely no material other than plastic that can rival the mentioned qualities, not to mention the difficulties in changing customers’ shopping habits. In addition, collecting and recycling is certainly more effective for economic reasons, compared to creating new materials which are versatile and environmentally friendly. For instance, the production of paper bags will harm the environment by using a massive of wood which will lead to deforestation. In conclusion, there is no denying that the vast numbers of plastic used, many of which are non-biodegradable, have taken a serious toll on our nature. I am convinced that the ban on plastic bags is not an ideal option to tackle this environmental problem. Government should allocate resources to accelerate research to find alternatives to plastic or at least more affordable alternatives.