Studies show that criminals get a low level of education. Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is educating people in prison so they can get a job after leaving prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Researchers have shown that the tendency of people to commit a crime is the result of lacking education. It is asserted that educating criminals during the time they are imprisoned is the prime solution to reduce the increasing crime rates. While I claim that this method is beneficial to a certain extent, I believe that there are several better ways to tackle the problem. On the one hand, I admit that educating convicts is a rational option in terms of reducing the number of people getting involved in illegal activities. The primary reason is that education provides prisoners with essential vocational knowledge and training, consequently enabling them to get a job after returning to the community. Those acknowledged skills assist them in earning a living to pay for their living fees and look after themselves as well as their families, preventing them from relapsing into illegal acts, stealing or pickpocketing, for example. Moreover, should prisoners be educated thoroughly, it is feasible that they are aware of their faulty actions and look forward to embarking on their lives again. Therefore, there is a likelihood of recidivism being reduced. On the other hand, I contend that the given solution is not comprehensive in today’s society as it only benefits those who have already committed a crime. In addition, bringing criminology into academic programs for the youth is considered more advantageous. To be more specific, the future crime rate can effectively be prevented by imparting the drawbacks of committing a crime to students and admonishing them not to be involved in those illegal acts. Furthermore, besides criminals getting a low level of education, there has been a significant number of white-collar inmates, such as lawyers or businessmen, who pursue tertiary education. Thus, there is no point in providing them with in-prison teaching. Instead, imposing extended and stricter punishments has a long-lasting impact on ensuring that they won’t make the same mistakes and also deterring people from thinking of carrying out a crime. In brief, while educating offenders during their time in prison has several advantages, I recommend governors highlight the need of having crime education as a part of academic programs and implementing harsh punishments in an attempt to decrease the number of criminals.