Fashion trends are difficult to follow these days and it’s widely believed that they primarily exist just to sell clothes. Some people believe that we shouldn’t follow them and that we should dress in what we like and feel comfortable in. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, people believe fashion trends are marketing tools for companies to sell clothes, as following fashion trends is difficult. Members of society think we should dress in what we feel comfortable with instead of wearing fancy clothes. Individuals should wear textiles that suit their interests, whether or not fashion tendencies are changing. On the one hand, individuals have many benefits from not following fashion trends and wearing what they want. Firstly, people don’t have to spend sums of money on buying new clothes because individuals are pleased with their clothes. Furthermore, choosing clothes is no longer a problem because there are a few textiles in people ’s wardrobes. As a result, individuals can save a lot of time deciding what they need to wear every morning. For example, it is convenient for employees of a company to wear jeans and shirts every day while others choose one of the clothes that they have. Secondly, a man not prone to pricey clothes must have high self-esteem. While the crowd sticks with stylish hair or expensive clothes, his style could make a trend that people have not seen before. On the other hand, there are also many positive points for the environment and society. There is a fact that a minority of wealthy people buy extravagant clothes or stylish shoes and wear them several times to boast that they are rich and throw clothes away as soon as they are old-fashioned. That is a huge of human waste that can be eliminated. Therefore, reducing human waste is a solution to limit damage to our planet, especially since climate change is leading to extreme phenomena, such as tsunamis and storms. On the social scale, the distance between the poor and the rich will be shorter as individuals who have wealthy circumstances rarely change their styles. Consequently, the society will be affluent because everyone will be treated more fairly. In conclusion, people ought to wear clothes they like because there are many benefits for individuals, society and the environment.